Vertex Color Tools

User avatar
trueBlue
Captain
Posts: 5216
Joined: 06 Jul 2009, 22:50
Type the number ten into the box: 10

Re: Vertex Color Tools

Post by trueBlue »

The Vertex Color Animation process has 42 Undo entries in the Command History.
Most of which could be Undone!
Looks like a good candidate for RsApp.ClearHistory() at the end of the process.
What do you think?

The Morph Animation process has a ton more!
Morphed Anim.png
User avatar
clintonman
Captain
Posts: 5432
Joined: 21 May 2009, 21:08
Type the number ten into the box: 0
Location: California
Contact:

Re: Vertex Color Tools

Post by clintonman »

Changes based on your stuff.

the sample didn't have my latest changes so internally still based on my nodes
not open tool as floating panel
using your separate panels, renamed "Vertex" tab to "Color"
added your export image checkbox
didn't export the VTA connector and continue to export the panel - because of the convenience of the Activate All VTMs button
changed conn name to vOffsetOut, without an underscore
no help button on vta - the wording needs work

no clear history

added checks that the end time is not zero
changed input fields to update on change behavior
morph uses fewer undos and nothing that is undone puts tS in an unstable state so no clear history is needed
vertex colors fewer undos - also removed the bitmap connectors from the script node, but might put them back since it may be possible to remove 2 more undos via a plugin copy command

if testing shows tS is unstable or crashing because of undos then the clear history would be a good idea.
Attachments
clothConversionScript.RsObj
(580.84 KiB) Downloaded 50 times
Clinton Reese

http://clintons3d.com
User avatar
trueBlue
Captain
Posts: 5216
Joined: 06 Jul 2009, 22:50
Type the number ten into the box: 10

Re: Vertex Color Tools

Post by trueBlue »

Simple Cloth plane on top of a Cube

Morph Animation

Code: Select all

Source object: /Scripts/CustomCommands/clothConversionScript/cloth2morph2/set keyframes Error: Microsoft JScript runtime error Description: 'clothFS' is undefined Error code: 0x800a1391 - (null) Line: 46, Char: 1 Script text:  MeshModifiers.SmoothNormals(clothFS.TargetNode); 
Are you going to allow these scripts to run on Camera and Lights?
I tried on a Camera and Light, all though possible, if you answer No to any of the tS Dialogs, you will get an error and a copy of it.

Vertex Color Animation
Notice a lag in this version unlike the previous version.
I put a trace at the beginning and end in the Vertex Texture Animation script.
System Trace Color Anim.png
System Trace Color Anim.png (2.93 KiB) Viewed 747 times
.
Why do you have an Alert with a timeout and a Status Message?
Alert is too fast to actually read it.

Model Vertex Animation
Missing starting frames.png
The right side Model Conversion cloth is missing the starting frames which should be flat like the left side cloth.
It looked like the copied meshes were there, just not included in the Model Animation after running the py script, which matched the Step Frames @ 10
User avatar
clintonman
Captain
Posts: 5432
Joined: 21 May 2009, 21:08
Type the number ten into the box: 0
Location: California
Contact:

Re: Vertex Color Tools

Post by clintonman »

fixed morphs error
removed alert at end and combined it with delete original dialog
removed vertex color alert to press shader button, only status line now
fix scene instanced materials vertex color animation
could not get rid of 2 undos for vertex color as planned
added trueblue cam and light checks

scene instanced will change the original material, no way around it added question/warning

ClothColorFixMultiMaterials.jpg

multi material cloth fixed - requires extra steps at the end

model vertex animation - no changes yet, something weird going on, getting keyframes in modelspace and might be bad tS install(super slow)
Attachments
clothConversionScript.RsObj
(588.17 KiB) Downloaded 52 times
Clinton Reese

http://clintons3d.com
User avatar
trueBlue
Captain
Posts: 5216
Joined: 06 Jul 2009, 22:50
Type the number ten into the box: 10

Re: Vertex Color Tools

Post by trueBlue »

Vertex Color Animation still lags with the Vertex Texture Animation script.
Could it be the change to not include the Bitmap(s)?
Sharing this scene because I found it interesting.
The source Plane was painted with your Paint Vertices tool.
The Plane, 1 was converted using your Vertex Color Animation scripts and is currently Invisible.
Run through the animation to see the differences from the source Plane.
Morph Animation did not have any differences.
Attachments
Cloth.RsScn
(3.64 MiB) Downloaded 51 times
User avatar
trueBlue
Captain
Posts: 5216
Joined: 06 Jul 2009, 22:50
Type the number ten into the box: 10

Re: Vertex Color Tools

Post by trueBlue »

Model Vertex Animation
I found a workaround for the missing starting meshes missing after running the Python file.
I set the timeIncrement = 1
Also added print("targetMesh has been processed") to the end of the script so I could tell when the process was fininshed.

Code: Select all

import sys
sys.path.append('PythonScripts')
import trueSpace
doc = trueSpace.GetActiveDocument()
doc.ClearOutTxt()

timeIncrement = 1

doc.ActiveTime = 0
target = doc.Object("targetMesh")
tsource = doc.Object("transformNode")
posn = tsource.Position
rot = tsource.Rotation
target.Position = posn
target.Rotation = rot
target.SetFrame()

verts = target.NbrVertices
count = 1
source = doc.Object("targetMesh," + str(count))
tsource = doc.Object("transformNode," + str(count))
doc.ActiveTime = timeIncrement

while source:
	for v in range(0,verts):
		vertex = source.GetVertex(v)

		x = vertex[0]
		y = vertex[1]
		z = vertex[2]

		target.SetVertex(v,x,y,z)
		target.AnimateVertex(v)

	posn = tsource.Position
	rot = tsource.Rotation
	target.Position = posn
	target.Rotation = rot
	target.SetFrame()

	count=count+1
	source = doc.Object("targetMesh," + str(count))
	tsource = doc.Object("transformNode," + str(count))
	doc.ActiveTime = count * timeIncrement;

doc.Draw()
trueSpace.Stop()
print("targetMesh has been processed")
Observations:
Deleting the left-over nodes in Model is not a good idea!
I used Model's Material Editor to Paint a new material on the targetMesh.
Switched to Workspace and Deleted the left-over nodes.
Using different Bridge settings might be helpful too.
Turn it ON.
Open Model
Turn it OFF.
Run the py script.
Paint.
Turn ON.
Open Workspace.
User avatar
clintonman
Captain
Posts: 5432
Joined: 21 May 2009, 21:08
Type the number ten into the box: 0
Location: California
Contact:

Re: Vertex Color Tools

Post by clintonman »

Modelspace vertex animation update:

Changed the model vertex to include 1 extra copy so the first frame matches the cloth start state.

Tips:

Dont have the model Scene Editor open during the run. It makes it very slow.
After running the python script remove it from the scene.
Think python makes tS a little unstable, so recommend exiting tS soon after a run.
Don't run python, exit to workspace and try to go back into modelspace. I got plenty of crashes with that sequence.
Currently in UU9 just opening a python script and looking at it is enough to make workspace run slowly. Can get the speed back by loading an old layout from unmodified trueSpace. The layouts included in UU9 will retain the slowness.

I don't see any lag in the vertex color processing. Does this prevent it from working?
Attachments
clothConversionScript.RsObj
(595 KiB) Downloaded 49 times
Clinton Reese

http://clintons3d.com
User avatar
trueBlue
Captain
Posts: 5216
Joined: 06 Jul 2009, 22:50
Type the number ten into the box: 10

Re: Vertex Color Tools

Post by trueBlue »

I highly doubt that this anything to do with the UU9 Layouts which are in fact UU8 Layouts that are probably even older the that.
The Model's Script Editor, Scene Editor and Facial Animator all do not work very well and make Workspace unstable.
There is no synchronization with Workspace in Model.
Even switching layouts, a lot, can have an effect on Workspace.

Have you tried using the trueSpace6 layout?
Reset the Context
Turn off the Bridge
Delete all objects in the Scene
Switch to the trueSpace6 layout
Close tS from the Model's File menu
Open tS and try using any of the above tools in Model only!
User avatar
clintonman
Captain
Posts: 5432
Joined: 21 May 2009, 21:08
Type the number ten into the box: 0
Location: California
Contact:

Re: Vertex Color Tools

Post by clintonman »

clintonman wrote: 22 Feb 2023, 03:27 Modelspace vertex animation update:

Changed the model vertex to include 1 extra copy so the first frame matches the cloth start state.

...
I forgot to post the updated python file. Part of the fix was to prevent tS renaming the objects when switching to modelspace.
The name pattern "nodename comma space number" was changed to "nodename comma number" to make modelspace happy.

Code: Select all

import sys
sys.path.append('PythonScripts')
import trueSpace
doc = trueSpace.GetActiveDocument()
doc.ClearOutTxt()

timeIncrement = 10

doc.ActiveTime = 0
target = doc.Object("targetMesh")
tsource = doc.Object("transformNode")

posn = tsource.Position
rot = tsource.Rotation
target.Position = posn
target.Rotation = rot
target.SetFrame()

verts = target.NbrVertices
count = 1
source = doc.Object("targetMesh," + str(count))
tsource = doc.Object("transformNode," + str(count))
#doc.ActiveTime = timeIncrement
doc.ActiveTime = 0
target.SetFrame()

while source:

	for v in range(0,verts):

		vertex = source.GetVertex(v)

		x = vertex[0]

		y = vertex[1]

		z = vertex[2]

		target.SetVertex(v,x,y,z)

		target.AnimateVertex(v)

	posn = tsource.Position
	rot = tsource.Rotation
	target.Position = posn
	target.Rotation = rot
	target.SetFrame()

	count=count+1
	source = doc.Object("targetMesh," + str(count))
	tsource = doc.Object("transformNode," + str(count))
	doc.ActiveTime = count * timeIncrement;

doc.Draw()

trueSpace.Stop()
Clinton Reese

http://clintons3d.com
User avatar
clintonman
Captain
Posts: 5432
Joined: 21 May 2009, 21:08
Type the number ten into the box: 0
Location: California
Contact:

Re: Vertex Color Tools

Post by clintonman »

I think I found the problem with the the UU layouts. The slowdown occurs when the Scene View is open. Several UU layouts have the Scene View open permanently, meaning there is no way to close it.

Steps:

Default Layout
Open LE window for convenient selecting - selections are fast
Switch to Model
Open the Python Editor
Selections are now super slow
Run the attached script to close the Scene View
Selections are fast again

Can restart tS to get speed with the Scene View open

I think the combination or python scripts and scene view is unstable and the scene view should be closed when running python scripts.
Attachments
CloseSceneViewNode.RsObj
(6.13 KiB) Downloaded 50 times
Clinton Reese

http://clintons3d.com
Post Reply