Color Picker

User avatar
clintonman
Captain
Posts: 5432
Joined: 21 May 2009, 21:08
Type the number ten into the box: 0
Location: California
Contact:

Re: Color Picker

Post by clintonman »

trueBlue wrote: 05 Feb 2023, 19:21
clintonman wrote: 05 Feb 2023, 17:30
trueBlue wrote: 05 Feb 2023, 17:18 If it is complicated just post the updated Color Picker.
If changing the UI is the issue you can try this untested idea

2D encapsulated everything inside the color picker
download and do the same for the new one
copy the new encapsulated node in
reconnect connectors from the old to the new
delete the old
unencapsulate the new

Edit: I did a test and it mostly works. The added step is you have to reconnect all the blue output connectors after unencapsulate.
Thank you for the adding my requests) :bananathumb:
Still in the early process of testing but so far looking really well.
Just a few tweaks...
Added two more SavePreset slots.
Left + button Resets 1-5
Right + button Resets 6-10 and RMB Resets 1-10
ToDo: Need to update these to util functions.

TheNode and OpenPanel scripts
Added if Camera selected or con exist "Selection" return.
Changed the width from 218 to 216 in the floating panel and OpenPanel script.
Add title "Color" and do not show floating panel's aspect.
New Color UI.png
The label "Input Bitmaps" will become obsolete as soon as another node is found with color connections most people would not want to see. It's too specific.
Can you make the bottom buttons more even in size. Maybe change "Kelvin" to "Temperature" would help? or maybe abbreviate them
Clinton Reese

http://clintons3d.com
User avatar
trueBlue
Captain
Posts: 5216
Joined: 06 Jul 2009, 22:50
Type the number ten into the box: 10

Re: Color Picker

Post by trueBlue »

Are there more components that have the hidden SamplerBrick con?
And if so, do they have more color cons other than Border color cons?
if(!IncludeAdvanced && Node.ConExists(currentNode, "SamplerBrick")) continue;//input bitmap node

What does IncludeAdvanced mean?
User avatar
trueBlue
Captain
Posts: 5216
Joined: 06 Jul 2009, 22:50
Type the number ten into the box: 10

Re: Color Picker

Post by trueBlue »

I googled Temperature, it gave me my weather report. :|
It is Helling out! :twisted:
How about Kelvin Scale?
Kelvin Scale.png
Kelvin Scale.png (5.59 KiB) Viewed 686 times
.
I forgot to mention, I removed all of the Pickers in the Clickable Bitmap Controls except the main bitmap
User avatar
clintonman
Captain
Posts: 5432
Joined: 21 May 2009, 21:08
Type the number ten into the box: 0
Location: California
Contact:

Re: Color Picker

Post by clintonman »

trueBlue wrote: 05 Feb 2023, 19:50 Are there more components that have the hidden SamplerBrick con?
And if so, do they have more color cons other than Border color cons?
if(!IncludeAdvanced && Node.ConExists(currentNode, "SamplerBrick")) continue;//input bitmap node

What does IncludeAdvanced mean?
There might be and the SamplerBrick conn isn't hidden.
and if they do exist, they might have other color conns.

As you see from the quoted code, it's not looking at Border color at all. It's looking for a SamplerBrick connection. I'm saying your making an assumption that every node that needs to be filtered out as "Advanced" is known and has been found. If we find another the label will be "Input Bitmaps + another". Find another after that and it changes again.

IncludeAdvanced means show the color connectors that most people would not want to see.
Clinton Reese

http://clintons3d.com
User avatar
clintonman
Captain
Posts: 5432
Joined: 21 May 2009, 21:08
Type the number ten into the box: 0
Location: California
Contact:

Re: Color Picker

Post by clintonman »

trueBlue wrote: 05 Feb 2023, 20:08 I googled Temperature, it gave me my weather report. :|
It is Helling out! :twisted:
How about Kelvin Scale?
Kelvin Scale.png
Kelvin isn't cowering in the corner anymore so :bananathumb:

Edit: just noticed your 1-10 buttons aren't even, 4 is a little wider than the others
Clinton Reese

http://clintons3d.com
User avatar
trueBlue
Captain
Posts: 5216
Joined: 06 Jul 2009, 22:50
Type the number ten into the box: 10

Re: Color Picker

Post by trueBlue »

All the same size just not touching each other.
What a Bitch Rosetta is! :evil:
Fixed
Fixed.png
User avatar
trueBlue
Captain
Posts: 5216
Joined: 06 Jul 2009, 22:50
Type the number ten into the box: 10

Re: Color Picker

Post by trueBlue »

clintonman wrote: 05 Feb 2023, 20:12
trueBlue wrote: 05 Feb 2023, 19:50 Are there more components that have the hidden SamplerBrick con?
And if so, do they have more color cons other than Border color cons?
if(!IncludeAdvanced && Node.ConExists(currentNode, "SamplerBrick")) continue;//input bitmap node

What does IncludeAdvanced mean?
There might be and the SamplerBrick conn isn't hidden.
and if they do exist, they might have other color conns.

As you see from the quoted code, it's not looking at Border color at all. It's looking for a SamplerBrick connection. I'm saying your making an assumption that every node that needs to be filtered out as "Advanced" is known and has been found. If we find another the label will be "Input Bitmaps + another". Find another after that and it changes again.

IncludeAdvanced means show the color connectors that most people would not want to see.
How about Advanced components?
or Advanced shaders?
User avatar
clintonman
Captain
Posts: 5432
Joined: 21 May 2009, 21:08
Type the number ten into the box: 0
Location: California
Contact:

Re: Color Picker

Post by clintonman »

trueBlue wrote: 05 Feb 2023, 22:17
clintonman wrote: 05 Feb 2023, 20:12
trueBlue wrote: 05 Feb 2023, 19:50 Are there more components that have the hidden SamplerBrick con?
And if so, do they have more color cons other than Border color cons?
if(!IncludeAdvanced && Node.ConExists(currentNode, "SamplerBrick")) continue;//input bitmap node

What does IncludeAdvanced mean?
There might be and the SamplerBrick conn isn't hidden.
and if they do exist, they might have other color conns.

As you see from the quoted code, it's not looking at Border color at all. It's looking for a SamplerBrick connection. I'm saying your making an assumption that every node that needs to be filtered out as "Advanced" is known and has been found. If we find another the label will be "Input Bitmaps + another". Find another after that and it changes again.

IncludeAdvanced means show the color connectors that most people would not want to see.
How about Advanced components?
or Advanced shaders?
Advanced components sounds more general. Possible we might find one that has nothing to do with materials or shaders
Clinton Reese

http://clintons3d.com
User avatar
trueBlue
Captain
Posts: 5216
Joined: 06 Jul 2009, 22:50
Type the number ten into the box: 10

Re: Color Picker

Post by trueBlue »

Okay, I used "Advanced components"
User avatar
trueBlue
Captain
Posts: 5216
Joined: 06 Jul 2009, 22:50
Type the number ten into the box: 10

Re: Color Picker

Post by trueBlue »

The more I test this on older scenes, I find that I am running this Color Picker, blindfolded. 8-)
Finding some uncommon uses of color and without digging around in the LE, I do not know what the color is for.
It is really easy to unwantedly change the color and I find that I need to Undo it.
So, it would be convenient to have a tS Undo button on the panel.
If possible, it would be helpful if you could add a button that navigates to the item in the combo control.
And be able to select it and or show the item in the stack.
Edit: I know this is beyond a use of a Color Picker, but if you could show me how to add the Node Owner to an out string, I could add these buttons.
Post Reply