Normal Move Tool

free scripts, plugins, models, textures
User avatar
clintonman
Captain
Posts: 5649
Joined: 21 May 2009, 21:08
Type the number ten into the box: 0
Location: California
Contact:

Re: Normal Move Tool

Post by clintonman »

trueBlue wrote:
clintonman wrote: I think i discovered a way to make the Watch Dog Event node work better. In this tool I run the Watch Dog Event manually the first time and that seems to "unstick" it so it works reliably. I'll need to do some more tests, but in the past it was unpredictable if the node was more than about 2 or 3 levels down in the scene graph. Hopefully this trick will fix those cases too.
Nice find! I can confirm that running that command works great in several test on my own. Thanks Clinton!

Also me thinks that converting the selection to vertices would be good too!
Node.Value("/Preferences/Mesh Editor Settings", "PE selection mode") = "vertex"
MeshModifiers.ConvertSelection('','')

Even better if you could use the present PE selection method instead of only vertices.
Request is done. :) Thanks for the suggestion. It's easier to just convert the selection back and forth, so that's what I did.
Clinton Reese

http://clintons3d.com
User avatar
trueBlue
Captain
Posts: 5522
Joined: 06 Jul 2009, 22:50
Type the number ten into the box: 10

Re: Normal Move Tool

Post by trueBlue »

Perfect! Thanks!
User avatar
trueBlue
Captain
Posts: 5522
Joined: 06 Jul 2009, 22:50
Type the number ten into the box: 10

Re: Normal Move Tool

Post by trueBlue »

Can you check out this widget?
I am getting an error when I open it in Widgets/Tools/PE NormalMove/silderReport
Capture.PNG
Capture.PNG (12.41 KiB) Viewed 3941 times
User avatar
clintonman
Captain
Posts: 5649
Joined: 21 May 2009, 21:08
Type the number ten into the box: 0
Location: California
Contact:

Re: Normal Move Tool

Post by clintonman »

trueBlue wrote: 14 Jan 2020, 18:40 Can you check out this widget?
I am getting an error when I open it in Widgets/Tools/PE NormalMove/silderReport
Capture.PNG
No clue, without steps to reproduce it can't tell.
Clinton Reese

http://clintons3d.com
User avatar
trueBlue
Captain
Posts: 5522
Joined: 06 Jul 2009, 22:50
Type the number ten into the box: 10

Re: Normal Move Tool

Post by trueBlue »

Try... Open and Close the driver node
Capture.PNG
Capture.PNG (2.45 KiB) Viewed 3942 times
User avatar
clintonman
Captain
Posts: 5649
Joined: 21 May 2009, 21:08
Type the number ten into the box: 0
Location: California
Contact:

Re: Normal Move Tool

Post by clintonman »

trueBlue wrote: 14 Jan 2020, 18:57 Try... Open and Close the driver node
Capture.PNG
That would never happen in normal use. So if you want to fix it you'll have to add some tests to check for proper selection and that the selected object is in PE mode.
Clinton Reese

http://clintons3d.com
User avatar
trueBlue
Captain
Posts: 5522
Joined: 06 Jul 2009, 22:50
Type the number ten into the box: 10

Re: Normal Move Tool

Post by trueBlue »

Okay, I added the following to the normalMove script

Code: Select all

	var firstsel = Node.FirstSelected();
	if ((firstsel == "") || !Node.ConExists(firstsel, 'Matrix') || !Node.ConExists(firstsel,"Selection")) 
	{
		params.SetTerminationFlag(); 
		return;
	}
User avatar
clintonman
Captain
Posts: 5649
Joined: 21 May 2009, 21:08
Type the number ten into the box: 0
Location: California
Contact:

Re: Normal Move Tool

Post by clintonman »

Update Feb 2025

uses fewer undos during operation
move mouse horizontally or vertically(only horizontal before)
include some enhancements from the UU version
new "R" to reset
new snapping option
new number input for the offset value
new toolbar button rclick panel

The reason for this update was that I wanted to test some ideas for the upcoming shear tool, like snapping and numerical inputs and a method for fewer undos when using the tool.

https://clintons3d.com/plugins/truespac ... lmove.html
Clinton Reese

http://clintons3d.com
User avatar
trueBlue
Captain
Posts: 5522
Joined: 06 Jul 2009, 22:50
Type the number ten into the box: 10

Re: Normal Move Tool

Post by trueBlue »

Normal Move Tool
new "R" to reset
In the UU10, the R shortcut is being used for the Rectangle Zoom

So, I will be changing this to N = Reset Normal Offset
or use the current method which is Left Click = Reset Normal Offset

Which one would you prefer?
User avatar
clintonman
Captain
Posts: 5649
Joined: 21 May 2009, 21:08
Type the number ten into the box: 0
Location: California
Contact:

Re: Normal Move Tool

Post by clintonman »

trueBlue wrote: 17 Feb 2025, 16:18 Normal Move Tool
new "R" to reset
In the UU10, the R shortcut is being used for the Rectangle Zoom

So, I will be changing this to N = Reset Normal Offset
or use the current method which is Left Click = Reset Normal Offset

Which one would you prefer?
When the tool is active R does not run the rectangle zoom so there is no conflict unless you want to rect zoom while normal moving so,
I prefer the keyboard shortcut "N", not the mouse click.

If you're planning a new UU release I have an updated CCFunctionSet and Global Function Set nodes. The CCFunctionSet was reorganized from 950 lines of code down to 652 lines and the GlobalFS has new code to open toolbars.
Clinton Reese

http://clintons3d.com
Post Reply