New model

WickedWitchOfTheWeb
Petty Officer Second Class
Posts: 36
Joined: 29 May 2009, 00:12

New model

Post by WickedWitchOfTheWeb »

After a very long time away, last week I reinstalled trueSpace and started reacquainting myself with this quirky software! Surprised at how quickly some things came back to me, whilst others needed the manual to hand!

To get back into the swing of things I thought I'd start with something I'm familiar with so here's the start of my first model in probably over a decade
Attachments
dalek.jpg

User avatar
trueBlue
Captain
Posts: 3406
Joined: 06 Jul 2009, 22:50
Type the number ten into the box: 10

Re: New model

Post by trueBlue »

Thanks for sharing!
What is it?
Are you using trueSpace7.6 or trueSpace7.61 Beta 8?

WickedWitchOfTheWeb
Petty Officer Second Class
Posts: 36
Joined: 29 May 2009, 00:12

Re: New model

Post by WickedWitchOfTheWeb »

What is it? It's a Dalek!!

Using 7.6 but only Model side. Will only be using Workspace side for final renders.

User avatar
trueBlue
Captain
Posts: 3406
Joined: 06 Jul 2009, 22:50
Type the number ten into the box: 10

Re: New model

Post by trueBlue »

Ah... I see!
Melt down.png
Seems you are using the best version for the Model side, accordingly from several expert users.
Most suggest setting the Workspace Bridge to OFF

WickedWitchOfTheWeb
Petty Officer Second Class
Posts: 36
Joined: 29 May 2009, 00:12

Re: New model

Post by WickedWitchOfTheWeb »

Interesting point. You mean turn the bridge off while creating and just switch it back on to render? Does that help? I pretty much gave up after I won the CaliGallery as I got frustrated with tS 7 being so buggy.

User avatar
trueBlue
Captain
Posts: 3406
Joined: 06 Jul 2009, 22:50
Type the number ten into the box: 10

Re: New model

Post by trueBlue »

Assuming that you want to use Model only.
Meaning you Exit trueSpace from Model and when you open trueSpace it opens in Model.
Open a new Model.scn, switch to Workspace, delete all of the objects in the Link Editor.
Set the Bridge to Off.
Switch to Model.

When and if you want to switch to Workspace, I would Save your scene first as a backup in Model!
Set the Bridge to On.
Select "Sync from Modeler"
Switch to Workspace

Now when switching back to Model is where you want to be careful!
Possible bloated file sizes and Material corruption.
Might be better to just save a Wokspace.RsScn.
Before switching to Model, delete all of the objects in the Link Editor.
Set the Bridge to Off.

Edit: Just tried what I suggested in trueSpace7.6 (have not used this version for a long time) and it seems that with the Bridge set to Off, and when you Exit Model, the Save State, Auto Load preferences does not work, as well as the Link Editor. :o
Have to confess, I spend most of my time in Workspace.
I find Workspace's modeling more comfortable then Model.

Edit2: Emmanuel wrote:
In my personal workflow, I use Workspace as a complementary toolset, and I believe I am not the only one here :). Workspace is like a big plugin to me.

So,when I want to edit in Workspace a specific mesh only from a Modeler scene, I need to :
- create a new temporary layer,
- move the object I am editing into this layer,
- hide all the other layers,
- cross the Bridge and edit my mesh in Workspace,
- cross back into Modeler,
- unhide the layers,
- move back my object in its original layer,
- delete the temporary layer.
That's pretty time consuming...

You may ask : why moving only one object rather than the whole scene ?
There is plenty of reasons for keeping the rest of the scene in Modeler side rather than crossing the entire scene : saving time when working on big scenes, keep the Workpace display simple and fast, prevent some possible crash, prevent unwanted loss or bugs in animation or material baked in Modeler, that may be broken if they cross the Bridge, etc...

Saul
Senior Chief Petty Officer
Posts: 235
Joined: 22 May 2009, 16:50

Re: New model

Post by Saul »

trueBlue ecrit

'Have to confess, I spend most of my time in Workspace.
I find Workspace's modeling more comfortable then Model.'

Same here and a lot else besides, do we still need moDel?

User avatar
bitkar
Captain
Posts: 1611
Joined: 16 Mar 2010, 07:14
Type the number ten into the box: 0
Location: Czech Republic
Contact:

Re: New model

Post by bitkar »

gratz on getting back to tS. Model space is the best for me too. I dont do any fancy stuff, just having bridge off.

What is Dalek?? :D but it looks like its well modelled so far :)
Michal aka bitkar
tS freak since tS2 (1998) and forever (tS7.61 modeler)

WickedWitchOfTheWeb
Petty Officer Second Class
Posts: 36
Joined: 29 May 2009, 00:12

Re: New model

Post by WickedWitchOfTheWeb »

Dalek's are the best know enemy in the TV programme Doctor Who.

User avatar
RAYMAN
Captain
Posts: 2386
Joined: 21 May 2009, 18:56

Re: New model

Post by RAYMAN »

Ah! Witchy is back! Good to hear from you again!
Must be a very long time! Welcome!

Post Reply