First Cycles Blender render..

User avatar
trueBlue
Captain
Posts: 2815
Joined: 06 Jul 2009, 22:50
Type the number ten into the box: 10

Re: First Cycles Blender render..

Post by trueBlue »

Sure!

User avatar
bitkar
Captain
Posts: 1526
Joined: 16 Mar 2010, 07:14
Type the number ten into the box: 0
Location: Czech Republic
Contact:

Re: First Cycles Blender render..

Post by bitkar »

i also wanted to ask you for a video or something to show how much work it is to model in tS and render in blender.
Michal aka bitkar
tS freak since tS2 (1998) and forever (tS7.61 modeler)

User avatar
Steinie
Captain
Posts: 2815
Joined: 21 May 2009, 17:38
Type the number ten into the box: 10
Contact:

Re: First Cycles Blender render..

Post by Steinie »

Heck Prodigy even a workflow showing you iron a shirt would be cool! :lol:
Welcome back!

User avatar
Dragneye
Lieutenant
Posts: 906
Joined: 02 Sep 2009, 22:09

Re: First Cycles Blender render..

Post by Dragneye »

Hey there Prodigy :bananahi:

Nice work.
Is the black reflecting the foreground (where you might have nothing to reflect, thus it renders black)? like where the camera is and behind it?

User avatar
Prodigy
Site Admin
Posts: 912
Joined: 21 May 2009, 14:46
Type the number ten into the box: 0
Location: Uruguay

Re: First Cycles Blender render..

Post by Prodigy »

Ok!! seems every wants a tutorial of "how to iron a shirt"!!

Let's doit! :bananamouse:
๑۩۞۩๑ prodigy ๑۩۞۩๑

User avatar
Prodigy
Site Admin
Posts: 912
Joined: 21 May 2009, 14:46
Type the number ten into the box: 0
Location: Uruguay

Re: First Cycles Blender render..

Post by Prodigy »

In the tutorial Section, Inside Blender you will find my truespaceKeyMap for Blender..

It mimics most of the truespace Mouse movements.. :bananatyping:

Another cycle render.. i have to admit that cycles is amazing but not THAT amazing like vray.. you get excellent results but for some reason the grain on the scene is killing me.. this render took 2 hours and a half.. and the grain still visible.. in vray will take a fraction of the time to looks much more amazing.. but hey.. all is not bad.. Cycles is free, and 64bit.. can't complain that much.. :worship:
Attachments
render17-8.jpg
render17-7.jpg
render17.jpg
๑۩۞۩๑ prodigy ๑۩۞۩๑

User avatar
Draise
Captain
Posts: 3153
Joined: 21 Sep 2009, 19:33
Type the number ten into the box: 0
Location: Bogota, Colombia
Contact:

Re: First Cycles Blender render..

Post by Draise »

Are you using the denoiser? Found 256 samples with denoiser at like half gets rid of most noise for HD shots (external I must admit).

Tip: Use ray clamps, define ray counts on seperate passes, don't render a beauty pass and composite together later (render each pass with lower settings, like AO with high denoiser). I can drop a 45 minute frame to 10 minutes without loosing much quality that way.

User avatar
Finis
Captain
Posts: 4782
Joined: 21 May 2009, 18:26
Type the number ten into the box: 0
Location: America!
Contact:

Re: First Cycles Blender render..

Post by Finis »

Use the denoiser for cycles. It is on the Render Layers panel. It will get rid of grain and fireflies. The denoiser has many settings so you can avoid reducing quality and control what it changes. You can use fewer samples and speed up rendering.

... Ah Draise said it.

Lighting and mood looks good.
Death to the parasites.
Send in the scoops.

User avatar
bitkar
Captain
Posts: 1526
Joined: 16 Mar 2010, 07:14
Type the number ten into the box: 0
Location: Czech Republic
Contact:

Re: First Cycles Blender render..

Post by bitkar »

ya, looks pretty harsh, like my old DSLR on iso 12800
Michal aka bitkar
tS freak since tS2 (1998) and forever (tS7.61 modeler)

User avatar
Prodigy
Site Admin
Posts: 912
Joined: 21 May 2009, 14:46
Type the number ten into the box: 0
Location: Uruguay

Re: First Cycles Blender render..

Post by Prodigy »

Hi guys,thanks for the feedback. Denoise was the first thing i've tested... but the results are far from my quality expectations.. Seems it works nice on bright scenes but in this particular, the effect is not acceptable at all.. :bananasad:
denoise.jpg
This render tooks 46minutes.. and Yaiks!!
Also, it seems that adding more samples didn't help on the render.. it take hours and the noise still present.. so to me is almost a showstopper.. :(
๑۩۞۩๑ prodigy ๑۩۞۩๑

Post Reply