tS7.6 - Model Layout

free scripts, plugins, models, textures
Post Reply
User avatar
trueBlue
Captain
Posts: 3238
Joined: 06 Jul 2009, 22:50
Type the number ten into the box: 10

tS7.6 - Model Layout

Post by trueBlue »

tS7.6 - Model only Layout
Screenshot (65).png
Copy the Model.rsl file to
C:\trueSpace76\tS\Rs Main Libraries\Layouts - Configurations folder

In Workspace, Load the
Install trueSpace76 Model File Menu.RsObj

In Workspace, remove all scene items
Set the Bridge to On or Auto
Select the Model layout Tab at the top of the interface or Load it from the Workspace's File Menu
If you wish you can now set the Bridge to Off

IMPORTANT: When switching Layouts, the Bridge should be set to On or Auto
When rendering Vray Animation images from Modeler, the Bridge needs to be set to On or Auto
These files are not compatible with any other trueSpace versions other than trueSpace7.6
Attachments
ModelOnlyLayout.zip
(36.74 KiB) Downloaded 21 times

User avatar
trueBlue
Captain
Posts: 3238
Joined: 06 Jul 2009, 22:50
Type the number ten into the box: 10

Re: tS7.6 - Model Layout

Post by trueBlue »

Vray Materials for Model.
VrayMaterials.PNG
Extract to the C:\trueSpace76\tS\Library folder
Attachments
Vray Materials.zip
(174.6 KiB) Downloaded 164 times

User avatar
Emmanuel
Master Chief Petty Officer
Posts: 560
Joined: 14 Jun 2009, 06:47

Re: tS7.6 - Model Layout

Post by Emmanuel »

trueBlue, I am thinking about Prodigy's future VRay standalone export tool.
When we launch a VRay render from Modeler in a Bridge OFF configuration, trueSpace automatically synchronizes the Workspace scene. But Prodigy's tool will be a pure Workspace feature that requires the Modeler scene to be loaded into Workspace first. Do you think a clic on your Synch ON/OFF buttons will make the switch ?

That bi-directional Bridge is problematic when a Workspace scene goes back into Modeler, as some errors may occurs sometime. So I am looking for an "export button" scenario that will do the synchronization Modeler-to-Workspace but never bring back the scene to Modeler.
What do you think ?

User avatar
trueBlue
Captain
Posts: 3238
Joined: 06 Jul 2009, 22:50
Type the number ten into the box: 10

Re: tS7.6 - Model Layout

Post by trueBlue »

Can't really say for sure. I do notice that there is another Bridge option though.
You can change the SyncMethod attribute from Smart sync to Full merge. You can still access the Desktop panel in this layout. Change the 3D aspect to 2D aspect and navigate to the System/Preferences/Desktop panel. If you find the right settings for whatever purpose you want, I can add another button(s) with the command(s).

FYI: This is the same layout that I posted on the Caligari Fourm except I found a way to hide the Workspace/Model Tabs and I improved the button installer.

User avatar
Emmanuel
Master Chief Petty Officer
Posts: 560
Joined: 14 Jun 2009, 06:47

Re: tS7.6 - Model Layout

Post by Emmanuel »

Thanks for the info ! :)
I guess Smart Sync must be for synchronization at a clic on the Workspace tab, while Full Merge will probably force synchronization even if there is no Worspace window in the layout.

User avatar
trueBlue
Captain
Posts: 3238
Joined: 06 Jul 2009, 22:50
Type the number ten into the box: 10

Re: tS7.6 - Model Layout

Post by trueBlue »

From the tS76 Manual

BridgeSync:
Sets the rate of synchronization between Workspace and Model Views. 30 fps is the default, and you can set the rate slower if you experience a slow down in program response due to the amount of data going between Model View and Workspace View. 0 fps means the synchronization will be executed only in selected cases such as when selection changes. Moving objects will not be synchronized in real-time.

Bridge Switch:
This combo box allows you to turn the bridge on or off.
There are three options:

1.) On: Bridge is deactivated only when modeler is closed.
Use this mode if:
• You do lot of animations with behaviors
• Switch often among layouts
• Want to be sure you won't lose any information during switches

2.) Off: Bridge is always deactivated.
Use this mode if:
• You work with large models, or you convert large models from older trueSpace versions. This is the most memory efficient and fastest mode.
• You use only the functions available in trueSpace6.6 for quick modeling and KF animation

3.) Auto: Bridge is deactivated when Modeler is closed or Modeler is open and all Link Editor Views and View3Ds are closed. This is a Default mode.
Use this mode if:
• You want to use Model and Workspace and your objects do not use a lot of behaviors combined with key-frames animation which could get lost during bridge activation/deactivation. This is the best compromise for most of the workflows.

To summarize the philosophy behind using the bridge modes:

Bridge On is a safe mode. It uses more memory and it is slower due to always on sync but if you have a medium size project where it is critical not to lose objects on both side of the bridge this is the mode you would use.

Bridge Off is for large projects which do not require much sync between Model and Workspace.

Bridge Auto is for most everyday work and is the Default mode. It is both fast and memory efficient but in some cases you may lose work on either Model or Workspace side.

When you turn the bridge to On or to Auto after you have worked in Off state, you will be presented with a dialogue box which will allow you to specify the direction of synchronization for Model and Workspace sides:
Content synchronization.PNG
Content synchronization.PNG (9.13 KiB) Viewed 2769 times
Sync is smart and will preserve all the work on the destination side that is not in direct conflict with the source side. You may lose some work, however, if you create some Workspace script behavior on a grouped object and then execute Boolean operation on the subobjects of the group in Model side. If there is a conflict, the Source side overwrites destination changes.

SyncMethod:
Called when the bridge is turned On to synchronize content on Workspace and Model side of the bridge.
• Smart Sync: Source side overrides the destination side if there are conflicting changes on the same object. If changes are on different objects, destination changes are kept.
• Full Merge: More comprehensive but slower method which attempts to preserve even changes on the same object.

Support Model procedural animation:
Allows you to turn off transfer of procedural animation to model side to increase the speed of bridge synchronization. If you want to see Workspace scripts running in Model you set this checkbox to On. That way you can move for example object in Model View and see color is procedurally changed by Workspace script.

User avatar
trueBlue
Captain
Posts: 3238
Joined: 06 Jul 2009, 22:50
Type the number ten into the box: 10

Re: tS7.6 - Model Layout

Post by trueBlue »

Updated this Model layout and installer for the Model's File Menu that includes Bridge buttons and Spline Polygon button

Post Reply