YafaRay for trueSpace 2019

LightWorks, VRay, Dribble, YafaRay and more..
User avatar
trueBlue
Captain
Posts: 2159
Joined: 06 Jul 2009, 22:50
Type the number ten into the box: 10

Re: YafaRay for trueSpace 2019

Post by trueBlue » 06 Nov 2019, 13:23

Want to make sure that any changes to the compiled help file are correct before I make the final update.
Quote from your last update to the Material Converter
added limits warning for the convert d3d to yafaray materials to help prevent crashes - limits to processing 200 materials at a time, 3 runs for a total of 600 is somewhat safe and 4 runs for a total of 800 may or may not crash, anything over 800 guaranteed crash
Do you want to redefine your correction?
After all of the scene materials are converted to D3D Shaders, you can convert some or all of the scene materials to YafaRay Materials.
From the YafaRay4tS aspect in the D3D Material Converter, choose to check or uncheck Selected Only, and select the Convert button.
The complex nature of YafaRay materials limits the number of scene items with YafaRay materials applied to about 800 objects.
BTW...the D3D Material Converter has a link to your website.
Edit: animation page chm file has "Rendering with the main view in Workspace and new Model will crash trueSpace" I don't think that's true anymore.
I am getting mixed results with the Mesh Model Processing scene when testing the above workflow.
First test after rendering, closing the new Model view, tS crashed.
If I switched the new Model view to Workspace first before closing it, no crash.
It is difficult to get tS in a un crash state. Simply resetting the default context does not work.
Fairly sure it has to due with Model's save state and also Workspace's lack of synchronization with Model.
Hence when switching the new Model view to Workspace first before closing it.

You have dead links in your online help file
YafaRay4tS installer
YafaRay Lights
YafaRay Light Material
new pic
image001.png
image001.png (3 KiB) Viewed 269 times
New pic and info
YafaRay4tS Setup
image008.png
image008.png (13.8 KiB) Viewed 269 times
Included with YafaRay4tS is a YafaRay Setup library that includes:

YafaRay4tS.RsScn with YafaRay Light setup and a Yafaray Camera.
YafaRay4tS toolbar.RsObj script that reloads the toolbar.
YafarayVolume.RsObj Volume Region object for Uniform and Height Fog.
Yafaray Camera.RsObj includes a script to select DOF distance and additonal settings.
EntryPoint.RsObj A Yafaray EntryPoint Camera. When the
scene loads the view will switch to this Camera's view.
In the YafaRay4tS/Camera aspect, with this camera selected,
select the Set Camera button. when rendering from a Camera View.
Several objects that are used to create a D3D Preview of the Background.
Tiff Loader.RsObj for loading and displaying Tiff images in trueSpace.

In the History, I am going to change the date to:
YafaRay4tS version: 0.9.7
November 05, 2019

Last but not least, I made a significant discovery when rendering an 2 min image this morning.
While it was rendering, I clicked on the Display, it disappeared, and when it finished rendering, the Bitmaps Base library was opened.
Capture3.PNG
Capture3.PNG (242.36 KiB) Viewed 257 times
This has always been an issue, but I have discovered a solution by changing it to a Clickable Bitmap.
Also added a WinId to the OwnedBy attribute to it's panel frame.
Changed the TIFF loader in the tSDisplay and YafaRay4tS Setup library too.
Here is a scene you can try with the changes.
Attachments
YafaRay4tS.RsRcd
(732.64 KiB) Downloaded 3 times

clintonman
Captain
Posts: 2913
Joined: 21 May 2009, 21:08
Type the number ten into the box: 0
Location: California
Contact:

Re: YafaRay for trueSpace 2019

Post by clintonman » 06 Nov 2019, 18:46

"First test after rendering, closing the new Model view, tS crashed.
If I switched the new Model view to Workspace first before closing it, no crash.
It is difficult to get tS in a un crash state. Simply resetting the default context does not work.
"

Confirmed for special mesh processing crash when exit floating model view
Don't see getting stuck in crashed/unstable state.

You have dead links in your online help file
YafaRay4tS installer
YafaRay Lights
YafaRay Light Material "

I see the broken Light Material link, don't know where the other 2 links are.

Will update online help to match the chm file changes.
Clinton Reese

http://clintons3d.com

User avatar
trueBlue
Captain
Posts: 2159
Joined: 06 Jul 2009, 22:50
Type the number ten into the box: 10

Re: YafaRay for trueSpace 2019

Post by trueBlue » 06 Nov 2019, 18:54

Another issue with the Save to File on the iOptiViewer when rendering to the TIFF format.
There is no option to save as a TIFF format for one, and even if there was I am not sure if it would work.
Saving to an available format does not work either. IE.. png, bmp, etc...
Most likely, the only way for this to work, would be with your plugins?

clintonman
Captain
Posts: 2913
Joined: 21 May 2009, 21:08
Type the number ten into the box: 0
Location: California
Contact:

Re: YafaRay for trueSpace 2019

Post by clintonman » 06 Nov 2019, 18:58

"Changed the TIFF loader in the tSDisplay and YafaRay4tS Setup library too."

Don't see any problems with your test scene.

Do not remove the button from the TIFF loader in the library. Just makes it less useful.

Removing buttons in general makes things more difficult to troubleshoot. When removed from a command node you can't run it in isolation anymore unless you add the button back in or load the run activity node from the library and hook it up.
Clinton Reese

http://clintons3d.com

clintonman
Captain
Posts: 2913
Joined: 21 May 2009, 21:08
Type the number ten into the box: 0
Location: California
Contact:

Re: YafaRay for trueSpace 2019

Post by clintonman » 06 Nov 2019, 19:05

trueBlue wrote:
06 Nov 2019, 18:54
Another issue with the Save to File on the iOptiViewer when rendering to the TIFF format.
There is no option to save as a TIFF format for one, and even if there was I am not sure if it would work.
Saving to an available format does not work either. IE.. png, bmp, etc...
Most likely, the only way for this to work, would be with your plugins?
I see it. It needs to change to save from the Tiff loader instead of the image.
Clinton Reese

http://clintons3d.com

User avatar
trueBlue
Captain
Posts: 2159
Joined: 06 Jul 2009, 22:50
Type the number ten into the box: 10

Re: YafaRay for trueSpace 2019

Post by trueBlue » 06 Nov 2019, 19:06

clintonman wrote:
06 Nov 2019, 18:58
"Changed the TIFF loader in the tSDisplay and YafaRay4tS Setup library too."

Don't see any problems with your test scene.

Do not remove the button from the TIFF loader in the library. Just makes it less useful.

Removing buttons in general makes things more difficult to troubleshoot. When removed from a command node you can't run it in isolation anymore unless you add the button back in or load the run activity node from the library and hook it up.
LOL, that is because I made the modifications! :mrgreen:
:? Buttons???
I changed the Bitmap attribute to a Clickable Bitmap.
This stops the Bitmap Base library from showing. :D

User avatar
trueBlue
Captain
Posts: 2159
Joined: 06 Jul 2009, 22:50
Type the number ten into the box: 10

Re: YafaRay for trueSpace 2019

Post by trueBlue » 06 Nov 2019, 19:10

clintonman wrote:
06 Nov 2019, 19:05
trueBlue wrote:
06 Nov 2019, 18:54
Another issue with the Save to File on the iOptiViewer when rendering to the TIFF format.
There is no option to save as a TIFF format for one, and even if there was I am not sure if it would work.
Saving to an available format does not work either. IE.. png, bmp, etc...
Most likely, the only way for this to work, would be with your plugins?
I see it. It needs to change to save from the Tiff loader instead of the image.
Long as it does not break saving as another format. Right?

clintonman
Captain
Posts: 2913
Joined: 21 May 2009, 21:08
Type the number ten into the box: 0
Location: California
Contact:

Re: YafaRay for trueSpace 2019

Post by clintonman » 06 Nov 2019, 19:18

fixed to save tiff format render image
Attachments
YafaRay4tS09.RsObj
(1.09 MiB) Downloaded 4 times
Clinton Reese

http://clintons3d.com

clintonman
Captain
Posts: 2913
Joined: 21 May 2009, 21:08
Type the number ten into the box: 0
Location: California
Contact:

Re: YafaRay for trueSpace 2019

Post by clintonman » 06 Nov 2019, 19:22

trueBlue wrote:
06 Nov 2019, 19:06
clintonman wrote:
06 Nov 2019, 18:58
"Changed the TIFF loader in the tSDisplay and YafaRay4tS Setup library too."

Don't see any problems with your test scene.

Do not remove the button from the TIFF loader in the library. Just makes it less useful.

Removing buttons in general makes things more difficult to troubleshoot. When removed from a command node you can't run it in isolation anymore unless you add the button back in or load the run activity node from the library and hook it up.
LOL, that is because I made the modifications! :mrgreen:
:? Buttons???
I changed the Bitmap attribute to a Clickable Bitmap.
This stops the Bitmap Base library from showing. :D
Just talking buttons in general. Removing the button from the Tiff Loader in the library makes it so you can't press a button and load the image via a dialog. Without the button you have to manually type the full path to the tif image. Doesn't matter as much that you removed it from the tiff loader inside the yafaray node.
Clinton Reese

http://clintons3d.com

User avatar
trueBlue
Captain
Posts: 2159
Joined: 06 Jul 2009, 22:50
Type the number ten into the box: 10

Re: YafaRay for trueSpace 2019

Post by trueBlue » 06 Nov 2019, 19:34

Okay I guess you are totally misunderstanding me.
I did not remove any buttons.
Here is the modified TIFF loader.
Click on the Bitmap attribute. Nothing happens, correct?

Now try it with your TIFF loader. Shows the Bitmap Base library, correct?
May have to coax it to show at first. Click, Double Click, and or Ctrl + Click it.
Does not eliminate Ctrl + Click though!

Also with the Display, the issue with showing the Bitmap Base library does not show unless you are in the middle of a long render and after it is completed. Or maybe when you Cancel the render.

Can you give instructions on how to save an Image.tif to disk?
Screenshot.png
Attachments
Tiff Loader.RsObj
(3.67 KiB) Downloaded 3 times

Post Reply