VRay Live

LightWorks, VRay, Dribble, YafaRay and more..
User avatar
trueBlue
Captain
Posts: 2189
Joined: 06 Jul 2009, 22:50
Type the number ten into the box: 10

VRay Live

Post by trueBlue » 23 Sep 2012, 07:33

Is it me or does the VRay Material Editor switch from the Live aspect to the Default aspect everytime you update a Shader? As a test I edited this VRay Material Editor and made the Live aspect the Default aspect and deleted the original Default aspect a Static aspect. Here is a video showing it's use in my Material Editor with Library Browser project that I am updating.
viewtopic.php?p=36716#p36716" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;
Capture.PNG
Update 9/24/2012: Here is the tS761 Material Editor Live VRay Installer
VRay needs to be Installed in the tS761 Package Manager first and tS761 needs to be rebooted atleast once before installing this customized Material Editor with Library Browser.
The Uninstall process uninstalls VRay from the tS761 Package Manager, but you need to reboot tS761 in order for it complete.
Attachments
tS761 Material Editor Live VRay Installer.zip
(142.27 KiB) Downloaded 78 times

User avatar
spacekdet
Captain
Posts: 1624
Joined: 27 May 2009, 15:00
Type the number ten into the box: 10
Location: On the day shift at the Utility Muffin Research Kitchen
Contact:

Re: VRay Live

Post by spacekdet » 23 Sep 2012, 15:27

Interesting.
Not sure what's going on in the video w/ no narration.

However, my issue w/ VRay libraries is this: I never ever see the floating panels that you have (outlined in green below).
I must open the libraries in the Library tab and choose what I want from there. If I double click on any of the 4 small preview spheres in the Material editor tS simply stops responding and I have to use windows task manager to kill it. I suspect the floating panel/libraries are actually open, but behind the 3D window.
My workaround (and I'm used to it now so don't worry about finding a fix) is to have the libraries open in the stack and then everything functions ok.

The point of this ramble? maybe it has to do with the Live/ default aspect quirk you discovered. I'm just not smart enough to figure out why; and you already have enough to do.
tbliblie.jpg

User avatar
trueBlue
Captain
Posts: 2189
Joined: 06 Jul 2009, 22:50
Type the number ten into the box: 10

Re: VRay Live

Post by trueBlue » 23 Sep 2012, 16:23

Is this problem in tS76 0r tS761 and what OS?
You calling me a liar? :shock:
Attachments
mickhatestB.PNG
mickhatestB.PNG (10 KiB) Viewed 1853 times

User avatar
spacekdet
Captain
Posts: 1624
Joined: 27 May 2009, 15:00
Type the number ten into the box: 10
Location: On the day shift at the Utility Muffin Research Kitchen
Contact:

Re: VRay Live

Post by spacekdet » 23 Sep 2012, 16:48

Not unlike the cake, the library is the liar; not you. Sharp eyes, though!

tS 7.6, Windows 7


Never noticed the Live/Default thing before, so I'll have a stab at that.

Edit: no difference, still freezes tS if I try to open a library from the material editor.

Faulty Default is faulty, Live kills it.

Don't sweat it, it's just another tS oddity!

As an aside, I can't get VRAy to work at all in 7.61. It insists it's 'loaded' in the package manager, but delivery never arrives!

User avatar
trueBlue
Captain
Posts: 2189
Joined: 06 Jul 2009, 22:50
Type the number ten into the box: 10

Re: VRay Live

Post by trueBlue » 23 Sep 2012, 17:00

spacekdet wrote:As an aside, I can't get VRAy to work at all in 7.61. It insists it's 'loaded' in the package manager, but delivery never arrives!
VRay for tS7.6 = tS76_Vray1_53.exe
Vray for tS7.6.1 = tS76_Vray1_54B8.exe

User avatar
spacekdet
Captain
Posts: 1624
Joined: 27 May 2009, 15:00
Type the number ten into the box: 10
Location: On the day shift at the Utility Muffin Research Kitchen
Contact:

Re: VRay Live

Post by spacekdet » 23 Sep 2012, 17:40

Well, how about that?

You, sir, are a genius.

Many thanks.

User avatar
Tiles
Master Chief Petty Officer
Posts: 385
Joined: 27 May 2009, 08:34

Re: VRay Live

Post by Tiles » 24 Sep 2012, 06:53

Vray for tS7.6.1 = tS76_Vray1_54B8.exe
Or VRay for tS7.6 = tS76_Vray1_53.exe with this neat little patch to use it with tS7.61 :)
Free Gamegraphics, Freeware Games http://reinerstilesets.de

User avatar
Steinie
Captain
Posts: 2788
Joined: 21 May 2009, 17:38
Type the number ten into the box: 10
Contact:

Re: VRay Live

Post by Steinie » 24 Sep 2012, 11:12

VRay for tS7.6 = tS76_Vray1_53.exe
Vray for tS7.6.1 = tS76_Vray1_54B8.exe
VRay for tS7.6 = tS76_Vray1_53.exe with this neat little patch to use it with tS7.61

It has been awhile since I played with versions...
Didn't VRay1.54B8 not get released?
ts7.6 did work with VRay 1.53 without patch? Glass works but 7.61 had all the enhancements.
ts 7.61B needed a patch (tiles patch) to work with VRay 1.54 but has the Glass bug?
I'll have to check my notes.


ALSO from trueBlue's original question below, when you change the texture I too notice that "Live" setting goes back to "Default" setting.

User avatar
spacekdet
Captain
Posts: 1624
Joined: 27 May 2009, 15:00
Type the number ten into the box: 10
Location: On the day shift at the Utility Muffin Research Kitchen
Contact:

Re: VRay Live

Post by spacekdet » 24 Sep 2012, 17:12

OK now you've just confused me.

User avatar
trueBlue
Captain
Posts: 2189
Joined: 06 Jul 2009, 22:50
Type the number ten into the box: 10

Re: VRay Live

Post by trueBlue » 24 Sep 2012, 21:12

Update 9/24/2012: Here is the tS761 Material Editor Live VRay Installer
viewtopic.php?p=36654#p36654" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;

Here is another video showing the new improved Material Editor with Library Viewer:
Capture.PNG
Attachments
VrayMaterialEditorLive.zip
(1.79 MiB) Downloaded 137 times

Post Reply