Jerky camera animation in Workspace

Post Reply
User avatar
Emmanuel
Master Chief Petty Officer
Posts: 587
Joined: 14 Jun 2009, 06:47

Jerky camera animation in Workspace

Post by Emmanuel »

I discovered that when you render a camera animation in Workspace, some frames are rendered twice IF THE CAMERA WAS CREATED IN MODELER !
This does not happen if you animate a Workspace-created camera.

For example in this 30 frames scene, you will find 2 cameras : the one that moves from left to the right ("Camera2") was CREATED in Modeler but ANIMATED in Workspace. If you render the animation from that camera (zip file attached), you will notice that Frame 6 and 7 are the same image, 12 and 13 are identical, as well as 17 and 18, 19 and 20, 27 and 28, and 29 and 30. Of course, these freezed frames are producing a jerky animation.


The other camera ("Camera"), that was CREATED and ANIMATED in Workspace runs pretty smooth.

Trueblue's tS Keyframe 2 AE Keyframe tool is a great help to transfer animations from Modeler to Workspace, but it seems it doesn't prevent that annoying jerky behavior to occur.
Can anyone confirm ? Is there a workaround to avoid that bug ?
Attachments
untitled0001.zip
(206.02 KiB) Downloaded 11 times
Jerky camera.RsScn
(398.43 KiB) Downloaded 11 times

User avatar
trueBlue
Captain
Posts: 3811
Joined: 06 Jul 2009, 22:50
Type the number ten into the box: 10

Re: Jerky camera animation in Workspace

Post by trueBlue »

Confirmed everything you mentioned except the Workspace Camera does not seem any smoother
In fact, rendering the same animation, as your example, from a View, Camera, or any Object in Vray or Render to File, all seem jerky to me
I even used an Original tS76 Camera with the same results
Also tried Keyframing every Frame
Still investigating...

User avatar
trueBlue
Captain
Posts: 3811
Joined: 06 Jul 2009, 22:50
Type the number ten into the box: 10

Re: Jerky camera animation in Workspace

Post by trueBlue »

I used a modified tS KeyFrame Recorder script to record a Camera in Model
It created 300 frames that moved the Camera 0.01 in the X axis
I used the tS76 tS Keyframe 2 AE Keyframe script to transfer the Model Camera to a copy of the Model Camera in Workspace
In Workspace's AE, I resized the Clip to 120 Frames
121_Frames.png
Click to image to see the animation

Here is an updated tS76 Keyframe Recorder
Currently, Pitch is not working
tS76 Keyframe Recorder panel.png
tS76 Keyframe Recorder panel.png (6.31 KiB) Viewed 831 times
Attachments
tS76 Keyframe Recorder.RsObj
Updated 11/17/2021
(91.14 KiB) Downloaded 10 times

User avatar
Emmanuel
Master Chief Petty Officer
Posts: 587
Joined: 14 Jun 2009, 06:47

Re: Jerky camera animation in Workspace

Post by Emmanuel »

Many thanks trueBlue !
I will test it tomorrow ; my tS computer is still busy rendering today...

User avatar
Emmanuel
Master Chief Petty Officer
Posts: 587
Joined: 14 Jun 2009, 06:47

Re: Jerky camera animation in Workspace

Post by Emmanuel »

Doing some investigations today, with and without your tools, here is what I found :
Workspace's render_animation_to_file tool is faulty. Sometimes it may work, but most of the time it misses some frames. I think it was still a work in progress at tS7.6 release and never got finished ; it lacks output formats such as PNG 32 bits anyway.

To render Workspace animations, we should use Modeler's render to file instead : its animation options panel offers to render Workspace scenes and it has all the file formats we may need (even PSD), it saves the resolution settings with scene file, etc...
Of course, as we noticed, it is a bit slower to render but at least it is reliable !

Your VRay DOF tool can now deliver its potential ! :superbanana:

faulty WS render animation tool.jpg

User avatar
trueBlue
Captain
Posts: 3811
Joined: 06 Jul 2009, 22:50
Type the number ten into the box: 10

Re: Jerky camera animation in Workspace

Post by trueBlue »

Awesome, I will check it out :bananacool2:
If you can, share your workflow & results
Unfortunately, Model's Render to File for Workspace is broken in tS7.61

Do you see any other Vray attributes worthy of being animated?
Clinton suggested:
clintonman wrote:
10 Nov 2021, 16:28
Maybe the environment color and intensity and I think vray has it's own background color.

User avatar
Emmanuel
Master Chief Petty Officer
Posts: 587
Joined: 14 Jun 2009, 06:47

Re: Jerky camera animation in Workspace

Post by Emmanuel »

trueBlue wrote:
14 Nov 2021, 20:06
Do you see any other Vray attributes worthy of being animated?
Clinton suggested:
clintonman wrote:
10 Nov 2021, 16:28
Maybe the environment color and intensity and I think vray has it's own background color.
Intensity and color of VRay's GI could be animated so create some special effects, so yes this would be a good improvement.

Post Reply