Scene View 2

User avatar
clintonman
Captain
Posts: 5429
Joined: 21 May 2009, 21:08
Type the number ten into the box: 0
Location: California
Contact:

Re: Scene View 2

Post by clintonman »

Maybe we're talking about 2 different things.

For me this is an odd statement.

"I selected the Material Editor, right click Browse in the LE
It navigates to inside the Material Editor "

because that is exactly what happens when I use the built in scene view browse in le. What happens when you use it? Does it not go inside?
Clinton Reese

http://clintons3d.com
User avatar
trueBlue
Captain
Posts: 5214
Joined: 06 Jul 2009, 22:50
Type the number ten into the box: 10

Re: Scene View 2

Post by trueBlue »

clintonman wrote: 23 Mar 2023, 20:41 Maybe we're talking about 2 different things.

For me this is an odd statement.

"I selected the Material Editor, right click Browse in the LE
It navigates to inside the Material Editor "

because that is exactly what happens when I use the built in scene view browse in le. What happens when you use it? Does it not go inside?
Correct, that is what happens when using Scene View 2 and Scene View
The problem for me is the Orange triangle no longer works when I use Browse in LE
Note where the Link Editor is in the top left in the following pictures:
Scene View
Scene View.png
Scene View.png (18.04 KiB) Viewed 661 times
Scene View 2
Scene View 2.png
As you can see using Scene View 2, the location is System not Material Editor
User avatar
clintonman
Captain
Posts: 5429
Joined: 21 May 2009, 21:08
Type the number ten into the box: 0
Location: California
Contact:

Re: Scene View 2

Post by clintonman »

trueBlue wrote: 23 Mar 2023, 20:50
clintonman wrote: 23 Mar 2023, 20:41 Maybe we're talking about 2 different things.

For me this is an odd statement.

"I selected the Material Editor, right click Browse in the LE
It navigates to inside the Material Editor "

because that is exactly what happens when I use the built in scene view browse in le. What happens when you use it? Does it not go inside?
Correct, that is what happens when using Scene View 2 and Scene View
The problem for me is the Orange triangle no longer works when I use Browse in LE
Note where the Link Editor is in the top left in the following pictures:
Scene View
Scene View.png
Scene View 2
Scene View 2.png
As you can see using Scene View 2, the location is System not Material Editor
That is interesting, but all the orange triangles still work. I'll see if it's possible to make it consistent, but I won't be able to fix broken triangles if I can't see them.
Clinton Reese

http://clintons3d.com
User avatar
trueBlue
Captain
Posts: 5214
Joined: 06 Jul 2009, 22:50
Type the number ten into the box: 10

Re: Scene View 2

Post by trueBlue »

clintonman wrote: 23 Mar 2023, 21:05
trueBlue wrote: 23 Mar 2023, 20:50
clintonman wrote: 23 Mar 2023, 20:41 Maybe we're talking about 2 different things.

For me this is an odd statement.

"I selected the Material Editor, right click Browse in the LE
It navigates to inside the Material Editor "

because that is exactly what happens when I use the built in scene view browse in le. What happens when you use it? Does it not go inside?
Correct, that is what happens when using Scene View 2 and Scene View
The problem for me is the Orange triangle no longer works when I use Browse in LE
Note where the Link Editor is in the top left in the following pictures:
Scene View
Scene View.png
Scene View 2
Scene View 2.png
As you can see using Scene View 2, the location is System not Material Editor
That is interesting, but all the orange triangles still work. I'll see if it's possible to make it consistent, but I won't be able to fix broken triangles if I can't see them.
I just changed all of the commands to:
LE.OpenLocation(Node.FirstSelected())

This seems to work
User avatar
trueBlue
Captain
Posts: 5214
Joined: 06 Jul 2009, 22:50
Type the number ten into the box: 10

Re: Scene View 2

Post by trueBlue »

This is not working right in Show in LE and I am not sure which function that is
As said, I changed all of the commands
User avatar
trueBlue
Captain
Posts: 5214
Joined: 06 Jul 2009, 22:50
Type the number ten into the box: 10

Re: Scene View 2

Post by trueBlue »

Update
For Show in LE, I am using:
LE.OpenLocation(Node.Owner(Node.FirstSelected()))
User avatar
clintonman
Captain
Posts: 5429
Joined: 21 May 2009, 21:08
Type the number ten into the box: 0
Location: California
Contact:

Re: Scene View 2

Post by clintonman »

trueBlue wrote: 23 Mar 2023, 20:04 Thats bizarre!
It works now, but why the change to opening Scene View 2 corrects it is really bizarre!

Just noticed that when using Browse in LE makes the Orange Triangle not work
I selected the Material Editor, right click Browse in the LE
It navigates to inside the Material Editor
I see it now. I was clicking on the orange "squares" on the nodes while testing and that masked the problem. You have to immediately press the orange triangle to see it broken.
Clinton Reese

http://clintons3d.com
User avatar
clintonman
Captain
Posts: 5429
Joined: 21 May 2009, 21:08
Type the number ten into the box: 0
Location: California
Contact:

Re: Scene View 2

Post by clintonman »

heres the fix for broken triangle
change is on second to last line ["/" + theselection], it needed the "/" prefix to the path

Code: Select all

function SceneView_OpenLE(theselection)
{
	// *** Browse in LE

	if(theselection == "") thenode = "/";

	if(Node.SubObjectCount(theselection) == 0) {
		var owner = Node.Owner(theselection);
		var thenode = Node.ShortName(theselection);

		LE.OpenLocation2(owner, thenode);
	} else {
		LE.OpenLocation("/" + theselection);
	}
}
Clinton Reese

http://clintons3d.com
User avatar
trueBlue
Captain
Posts: 5214
Joined: 06 Jul 2009, 22:50
Type the number ten into the box: 10

Re: Scene View 2

Post by trueBlue »

clintonman wrote: 24 Mar 2023, 20:30 heres the fix for broken triangle
change is on second to last line ["/" + theselection], it needed the "/" prefix to the path

Code: Select all

function SceneView_OpenLE(theselection)
{
	// *** Browse in LE

	if(theselection == "") thenode = "/";

	if(Node.SubObjectCount(theselection) == 0) {
		var owner = Node.Owner(theselection);
		var thenode = Node.ShortName(theselection);

		LE.OpenLocation2(owner, thenode);
	} else {
		LE.OpenLocation("/" + theselection);
	}
}
I will try your fix
openSceneView2
Can you add Space.Unselect() ?

Code: Select all

	//will start blank if nothing is selected - select first scene item
	if(Node.SelectedCount() == 0) {
		var scene = Space.CurrentScene();
		Space.Select(scene + "/" + Node.SubObject(scene, 0));
Space.Unselect()
	}
OBJ Matrix Stats.png
OBJ Matrix Stats.png (3.36 KiB) Viewed 645 times
Object Matrix Stats does not update the Object Statistics - pivot matrix aspect, it updates the Info aspect
User avatar
clintonman
Captain
Posts: 5429
Joined: 21 May 2009, 21:08
Type the number ten into the box: 0
Location: California
Contact:

Re: Scene View 2

Post by clintonman »

trueBlue wrote: 24 Mar 2023, 20:48
clintonman wrote: 24 Mar 2023, 20:30 heres the fix for broken triangle
change is on second to last line ["/" + theselection], it needed the "/" prefix to the path

Code: Select all

function SceneView_OpenLE(theselection)
{
	// *** Browse in LE

	if(theselection == "") thenode = "/";

	if(Node.SubObjectCount(theselection) == 0) {
		var owner = Node.Owner(theselection);
		var thenode = Node.ShortName(theselection);

		LE.OpenLocation2(owner, thenode);
	} else {
		LE.OpenLocation("/" + theselection);
	}
}
I will try your fix
openSceneView2
Can you add Space.Unselect() ?

Code: Select all

	//will start blank if nothing is selected - select first scene item
	if(Node.SelectedCount() == 0) {
		var scene = Space.CurrentScene();
		Space.Select(scene + "/" + Node.SubObject(scene, 0));
Space.Unselect()
	}
OBJ Matrix Stats.png
Object Matrix Stats does not update the Object Statistics - pivot matrix aspect, it updates the Info aspect
If the tree still populates when nothing is selected, then adding Space.Unselect at that location seems like a good idea.

http://clintons3d.com/plugins/truespace ... stics.html
not clearly written but
"choose the pivot mat tab to display the matrix aspect
the matrices require the Update button to refresh the information"
Clinton Reese

http://clintons3d.com
Post Reply