Color Picker

User avatar
trueBlue
Captain
Posts: 5214
Joined: 06 Jul 2009, 22:50
Type the number ten into the box: 10

Re: Color Picker

Post by trueBlue »

Hopefully you can solve the error.
Is the 1dColorData Clickable Bitmap Control being discontinued?
User avatar
clintonman
Captain
Posts: 5428
Joined: 21 May 2009, 21:08
Type the number ten into the box: 0
Location: California
Contact:

Re: Color Picker

Post by clintonman »

trueBlue wrote: 27 Jan 2023, 20:27 Hopefully you can solve the error.
Is the 1dColorData Clickable Bitmap Control being discontinued?
Probably, to both.
Clinton Reese

http://clintons3d.com
User avatar
trueBlue
Captain
Posts: 5214
Joined: 06 Jul 2009, 22:50
Type the number ten into the box: 10

Re: Color Picker

Post by trueBlue »

How are you going to get gray scale colors?
User avatar
clintonman
Captain
Posts: 5428
Joined: 21 May 2009, 21:08
Type the number ten into the box: 0
Location: California
Contact:

Re: Color Picker

Post by clintonman »

trueBlue wrote: 27 Jan 2023, 20:49 How are you going to get gray scale colors?
The 1dColorData Clickable Bitmap Control is replaced by the slider control and remains as a visual guide for the slider.
Clinton Reese

http://clintons3d.com
User avatar
clintonman
Captain
Posts: 5428
Joined: 21 May 2009, 21:08
Type the number ten into the box: 0
Location: California
Contact:

Re: Color Picker

Post by clintonman »

ColorPickerBugs.jpg

Found a couple of bugs. One is a truespace bug. For color objects the SetColorHSL command will create a white color if hue is 1. A hue of 1 should be red. This effects the main color picker. If you pick on the far right you get white because the image was not built properly because of the hue bug.

Second thing is that I changed the resolution of the main color picker making it shorter. The control was still square and tS was causing a white selection at the very bottom of the control which should be maximum saturation. I made the control proportional and that fixed the problem.

Another bug is when you select an object with no color and press the Update button you get an null error. Fixed it with an early return. This is not the same error trueBlue found. Haven't been able to reproduce that error without some steps.
Attachments
Color Picker.RsObj
(545.77 KiB) Downloaded 45 times
Clinton Reese

http://clintons3d.com
User avatar
trueBlue
Captain
Posts: 5214
Joined: 06 Jul 2009, 22:50
Type the number ten into the box: 10

Re: Color Picker

Post by trueBlue »

clintonman wrote: 01 Feb 2023, 05:36 Another bug is when you select an object with no color and press the Update button you get an null error. Fixed it with an early return. This is not the same error trueBlue found. Haven't been able to reproduce that error without some steps.
That null error, that you fixed is the same error that I was getting.
I will let you know if I get any other errors.
I am using the same code used in the main bitmap in the Black & White gradient bitmap.
Do you see any reason not to use that?
Attachments
Color.png
User avatar
clintonman
Captain
Posts: 5428
Joined: 21 May 2009, 21:08
Type the number ten into the box: 0
Location: California
Contact:

Re: Color Picker

Post by clintonman »

trueBlue wrote: 01 Feb 2023, 14:44
clintonman wrote: 01 Feb 2023, 05:36 Another bug is when you select an object with no color and press the Update button you get an null error. Fixed it with an early return. This is not the same error trueBlue found. Haven't been able to reproduce that error without some steps.
That null error, that you fixed is the same error that I was getting.
I will let you know if I get any other errors.
I am using the same code used in the main bitmap in the Black & White gradient bitmap.
Do you see any reason not to use that?
Not off the top of my head.
Clinton Reese

http://clintons3d.com
User avatar
trueBlue
Captain
Posts: 5214
Joined: 06 Jul 2009, 22:50
Type the number ten into the box: 10

Re: Color Picker

Post by trueBlue »

Couple other observations...
Color aspect
The Lum; Red; Green; Blue right click Reset does not do anything except add Undo entries to the Command History and Undoing them does not do anything. I changed the Link(s) to None.
The Integer2Number script has two OnDefaultValue functions.
The BufferColor does not need to be exposed. The Color attribute updates.
Exp aspect
There are two attributes that should be deleted.
The Icon is a Spotlight bitmap.
Tip: Left click - Iconize
Color.png
Color.png (19.92 KiB) Viewed 522 times
User avatar
trueBlue
Captain
Posts: 5214
Joined: 06 Jul 2009, 22:50
Type the number ten into the box: 10

Re: Color Picker

Post by trueBlue »

I made a poor man's Lum Channel
Or is it Saturation?
Lum Channel.png
Lum Channel.png (10.22 KiB) Viewed 507 times
.
Lum Bitmap
The first color is a static White color.
The second and third color are both the Picked color.
The fourth color is a static Black color.
Gradient Bitmap.png
.
And a Shortcut

Code: Select all

    <RS_ACC KEY="SHIFT C" GROUP="USERDEFINED" CONTEXT="" DESC="Run Color Picker" COMMAND="Activity.Run(&quot;Scripts/CustomCommands/Color Picker/OpenPanel&quot;)" />
Point Edit also uses SHIFT C

Code: Select all

    <RS_ACC KEY="SHIFT C" DESC="Convert Selection" GROUP="VIEW3D" CONTEXT = "PointEdit" COMMAND="MeshModifiers.ConvertSelection('','');" />
Do you think that will be an issue?
User avatar
clintonman
Captain
Posts: 5428
Joined: 21 May 2009, 21:08
Type the number ten into the box: 0
Location: California
Contact:

Re: Color Picker

Post by clintonman »

trueBlue wrote: 02 Feb 2023, 20:09 I made a poor man's Lum Channel
Lum Channel.png
.
Lum Bitmap
The first color is a static White color.
The second and third color are both the Picked color.
The fourth color is a static Black color.

Gradient Bitmap.png
.
And a Shortcut

Code: Select all

    <RS_ACC KEY="SHIFT C" GROUP="USERDEFINED" CONTEXT="" DESC="Run Color Picker" COMMAND="Activity.Run(&quot;Scripts/CustomCommands/Color Picker/OpenPanel&quot;)" />
Point Edit also uses SHIFT C

Code: Select all

    <RS_ACC KEY="SHIFT C" DESC="Convert Selection" GROUP="VIEW3D" CONTEXT = "PointEdit" COMMAND="MeshModifiers.ConvertSelection('','');" />
Do you think that will be an issue?
Do you think that will be an issue?
The only way to know for sure is try it and see.
Clinton Reese

http://clintons3d.com
Post Reply