Normal Move Tool

free scripts, plugins, models, textures
clintonman
Captain
Posts: 3055
Joined: 21 May 2009, 21:08
Type the number ten into the box: 0
Location: California
Contact:

Re: Normal Move Tool

Post by clintonman » 14 Sep 2013, 19:55

trueBlue wrote:
clintonman wrote: I think i discovered a way to make the Watch Dog Event node work better. In this tool I run the Watch Dog Event manually the first time and that seems to "unstick" it so it works reliably. I'll need to do some more tests, but in the past it was unpredictable if the node was more than about 2 or 3 levels down in the scene graph. Hopefully this trick will fix those cases too.
Nice find! I can confirm that running that command works great in several test on my own. Thanks Clinton!

Also me thinks that converting the selection to vertices would be good too!
Node.Value("/Preferences/Mesh Editor Settings", "PE selection mode") = "vertex"
MeshModifiers.ConvertSelection('','')

Even better if you could use the present PE selection method instead of only vertices.
Request is done. :) Thanks for the suggestion. It's easier to just convert the selection back and forth, so that's what I did.
Clinton Reese

http://clintons3d.com

User avatar
trueBlue
Captain
Posts: 2390
Joined: 06 Jul 2009, 22:50
Type the number ten into the box: 10

Re: Normal Move Tool

Post by trueBlue » 14 Sep 2013, 22:18

Perfect! Thanks!

User avatar
trueBlue
Captain
Posts: 2390
Joined: 06 Jul 2009, 22:50
Type the number ten into the box: 10

Re: Normal Move Tool

Post by trueBlue » 14 Jan 2020, 18:40

Can you check out this widget?
I am getting an error when I open it in Widgets/Tools/PE NormalMove/silderReport
Capture.PNG
Capture.PNG (12.41 KiB) Viewed 101 times

clintonman
Captain
Posts: 3055
Joined: 21 May 2009, 21:08
Type the number ten into the box: 0
Location: California
Contact:

Re: Normal Move Tool

Post by clintonman » 14 Jan 2020, 18:47

trueBlue wrote:
14 Jan 2020, 18:40
Can you check out this widget?
I am getting an error when I open it in Widgets/Tools/PE NormalMove/silderReport
Capture.PNG
No clue, without steps to reproduce it can't tell.
Clinton Reese

http://clintons3d.com

User avatar
trueBlue
Captain
Posts: 2390
Joined: 06 Jul 2009, 22:50
Type the number ten into the box: 10

Re: Normal Move Tool

Post by trueBlue » 14 Jan 2020, 18:57

Try... Open and Close the driver node
Capture.PNG
Capture.PNG (2.45 KiB) Viewed 97 times

clintonman
Captain
Posts: 3055
Joined: 21 May 2009, 21:08
Type the number ten into the box: 0
Location: California
Contact:

Re: Normal Move Tool

Post by clintonman » 14 Jan 2020, 19:03

trueBlue wrote:
14 Jan 2020, 18:57
Try... Open and Close the driver node
Capture.PNG
That would never happen in normal use. So if you want to fix it you'll have to add some tests to check for proper selection and that the selected object is in PE mode.
Clinton Reese

http://clintons3d.com

User avatar
trueBlue
Captain
Posts: 2390
Joined: 06 Jul 2009, 22:50
Type the number ten into the box: 10

Re: Normal Move Tool

Post by trueBlue » 14 Jan 2020, 19:27

Okay, I added the following to the normalMove script

Code: Select all

	var firstsel = Node.FirstSelected();
	if ((firstsel == "") || !Node.ConExists(firstsel, 'Matrix') || !Node.ConExists(firstsel,"Selection")) 
	{
		params.SetTerminationFlag(); 
		return;
	}

Post Reply